Further Media Makeup & Postiche – Week 1 (Semester 1) of Year 2 Makeup Artistry & Special Makeup Effects

In my very first lesson my tutor introduced me to blocking front laced wigs and gave me a great demonstration, as well as an example of artists that wear them e.g. Beyonce (see images below). Wearing a wig can be great for changing the colour, length and style of someone’s hair, for creating a character or historical style and it is very good for continuity and speed in theatre or film work.

As well as this I learnt how to make a plastic wig pattern using cling film, scissors, cello-tape and a permanent marker (see image below).  This will help towards tasks given on my assignment brief for semester 1 (having to create a moustache using synthetic hair of my choice), to be able to do this a plastic wig pattern has to be made to achieve the correct measurements for the model. I felt the different textures of hair available to use, some being horrendous (yak hair) and others silky and soft (kanekalon, horse and human hair) which gave me a good insight.

2 thoughts on “Further Media Makeup & Postiche – Week 1 (Semester 1) of Year 2 Makeup Artistry & Special Makeup Effects

Leave a Reply

