Further Media Makeup & Postiche – Week 3 (Semester 1) of Year 2 Makeup Artistry & Special Makeup Effects

During further media makeup and pastiche classes in week 3 I was given my assignment brief for semester 1 (it now starts to get scary how much work I have to do!! Eeek). One of the tasks for this assignment was to think of a character from a historical production or a well-known historical figure and design a new contemporary look for them, utilising postiche made from other materials. This image would be for a new production in the West End, it must be as creative as possible; however contemporary but still recognisable. I started thinking of characters that would be great such as Marie Antoinette, Madame Pompadour, Priscilla, The Ugly Sisters and Winston Churchill but on conclusion I chose the beautiful  Goddess Aphrodite (the image below inspired me to choose her)

At the end of the lesson I was given a quick test on postiche such as ‘Which is the most expensive hair to purchase?’ this being virgin blonde hair (European). I didn’t embarrass myself at all, in fact I did pretty impressive to say it’s all new to me! Hee.

Towards the end of the lesson I made a plastic pattern around the bottom half of the face as this will give me the right measurements for making a moustache for my model. I have images below showing how it looked.

Leave a Reply

