Further Media Makeup & Postiche – Week 7 (Semester 1) of Year 2 Makeup Artistry & Special Makeup Effects

In Postiche class I learnt traditional methods of wig making particularly knotting. For one of my tasks I will make a postiche (moustache) from traditional knotting. From research I know basic knowledge such as fine hair is needed to make a moustache as this is natural and it is used in television/film. However I would use coarse hair for theatrical looks as the postiche must stand out, appearing more obvious as opposed to an up close natural look.

Nets are made finely or thick and used differently depending on the image desired. Silicone is used on the front of wigs so that they stick down onto the skin naturally. I will research into this more to find out how much depth a net needs to have in order to punch hairs into it (for future reference.)

To fulfil this task, I received a cork board, a knotting needle and a small square of lace (fine netting) to use over the next few weeks which will enable me to practice the fine art of knotting hairs. Once I had placed a piece of black paper on top of my board to make the netting more obvious, cello taped this down and hammered the lace down with pins (1cm apart so that the netting was stretched out), I could begin my knotting. This is how it looked at first in the images below.

The hexagon holes in the lace are spaced out in a straight line, therefore I will knot along this line, as closely together as possible so that it lies flat and has a neat finish. American terms are very different from the terms we use – knotting is ventilating to them, but this does not stop me researching their websites. As I watched a demonstration of my tutor knotting, my impression was that she made it look fairly simple but it seemed much harder practicing it myself afterwards.

This video below by ‘glamhair’ shows how knotting is done with the same techniques that my tutor demonstrated.

I managed to get at least one hair knotted before the end of the lesson! Here’s how it looked in the image below.

The following day my tutor moved onto a demonstration for latex ageing which was enthralling, so much so I absolutely loved this lesson! Latex adds dimension and gives a more wrinkly effect, it is used frequently for close up shots in media (television for example.) Instead of the type of latex I am familiar to working with for special effects makeup, “old age” stipple latex is in fact the better choice when ageing images are required as this is available in various colours. Makeup or latex can be applied to the face first with any latex; however makeup should always be applied first before using old age stipple as it does not always allow you to add products on top. Stipple latex can be layered twice over the areas desired, however more on the forehead and neck is needed as more wrinkles tend to appear here. To remove safely, use an oil base product or warm water (anything that will aid melting the latex) and slowly peel back. The image below shows how the final result looks on a student model (around the eye and on one hand).

Leave a Reply

