MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

This is my first MAC product review which I am sure will be very appealing as MAC is one of the most popular international brands and one of my personal favourites! There are not many MAC counters available in British towns or cities, however unsurprisingly where there is one you will never find it quiet. It is generally regarded as quite an expensive brand to purchase but loyal consumers believe that the price is acceptable for products which achieve the promised results. Personally, I use a MAC makeup kit for College and work experience. I tend to mix and match, using some of their products whilst also referring to other favourites such as Art Deco, Bobbi Brown and Rimmel London. I use many of the MAC foundations in my kit, namely Face and Body, Studio Tech and Mineralize Loose Powder (all of which would not work on my skin but are generally good). In this review I will be rating a much-loved product of mine which is the Pro Longwear Foundation. This has an average rating of 3.9 out of 5 on the Makeup Alley website and 67% of people would purchase it again at the retail price of £24.00.MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

This foundation is said to provide up to 15 hours of wear in any environmental condition. I was eager to find the perfect foundation that lasts especially in winter months when it rains and snows; I want a foundation that can fight the weather! Equally, summer provides its problems as makeup melts in the sun.

This foundation is lightweight and creamy in texture, giving sheer to medium coverage which is buildable. It blends into my skin beautifully and controls oil to keep skin looking fresh, natural and flawless. It is perfect for an oily skin type but I would not recommend it for dry skin as flakiness shows on the skin. It contains an SPF 10 for everyday protection which is very important. A lot of people do not realise that they still need to protect their skin even in winter. The shade I chose for my white sun-kissed complexion is NC20 which matches impeccably!!! One of the positives with MAC is that their bases come in such a wide range of shades that there is one to suit everybody. I have never encountered a foundation which is as close to my skin shade as this one consequently this is one of my consistent purchases. Only a tiny bit is needed for each section of the face and it smooth’s over the skin beautifully. The amount of foundation you get for the price is reasonable as it lasts me a few months even with using it on a daily basis. My skin reacts lovely to this foundation and I have had no breakouts or skin problems what so ever since using it. It keeps my skin moisturised and feels very light on.MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

The packaging is another highlight. A beautiful rounded glass bottle sold within a simple box for protection. The lid has a lockable pump which is easily twisted into position. This is particularly reassuring for travelling as it would not leak due to the safety seal. 

Many people find this product comparable to the Estée Lauder Double Wear Foundation however I find that the Estée Lauder foundation is very cakey (and thick), does not last for very long and does nothing positive for my skin at all. Work colleagues also found the same when we all were given a free sample. It did wear off much quicker than other foundations.

Therefore if you are looking for a new foundation, I highly recommend trying this one.  Skin types, colours, tones, requirements and concerns are all major factors to be considered when choosing a foundation and I feel very lucky to have found this one which suits me perfectly. As individuals we vary in what we desire from a foundation so trying out various brands is a necessity to finding the one that suits you best but I sincerely hope you find this product offers you as much contentment and confidence as it gives me.

I look forward to trying other MAC products such as the Pro Conceal and Correct Palettes which would be excellent to have in my kit especially as there are four skin type shades available! The Prep and Prime Natural Radiance also sounds very appealing but as a student my budget is limited so regrettably I cannot afford to buy them but it is worth keeping a lookout for free samples. Good luck!

One thought on “MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

Leave a Reply

