Further Media Makeup & Postiche – Week 4 (Semester 2) of Year 2 Makeup Artistry & Special Makeup Effects

This lesson covered task 1 of our assignment briefs (a discussion as a group with each individual discussing their findings of work carried out in each area of the industry). All information received in this session will be useful for tasks 2 and 3 where we have to look back at this discussion and use applicable references.

Firstly we discussed how a portfolio should look coupled with what it should contain as we are actively working on portfolio building throughout this final semester. I realised during this discussion that my personal opinion of images in my portfolio are not what matters most. In fact there could be a piece that I do not particularly like, but others such as my peers may think differently, that it looks fantastic and is one of my best images. Consequently it is vitally important to seek the opinions of others as clearly we do not employ ourselves. Peers are ideally suited to being critics as they are my competitors and offer full, frank but constructive opinions.

Looking at each area in the media such as, television (celebrity reality, reality, light entertainment, soaps/drama), film, catwalk, commercial, theatre, performance and body painting, I learnt that it is not just about how the image is created and who is used and the skills needed, but other factors such as what takes place for example in catwalk modelling, how the makeup designer gets her makeup requirements across to the makeup artists. It could be face charts, demonstrations or simply discussing them at meetings. There are always so many points that you learn when you speak to someone else in the industry or speak to your peers to discover what research they have found.

In order to gain entrance into the field of makeup artistry the first step is the same as most professions namely work experience. Fortunately on this course, work experience has been an essential requirement of the assignment briefs.

I understand that in many positions within the makeup artistry industry I may be asked to start at the very bottom, whether it is making cups of tea, sweeping up hair or just shadowing. This does not deter me as in my opinion it serves to prove that I am truly dedicated and my passion for beauty and makeup has no limitations.

It is now reading week and over this period I will be working hard on tasks 2 and 3, as well as continuing my research and revision in creature design. My aim is to research thoroughly, practice my art/drawing/sketching before updating my blog. It will be a tough week but I know my endeavours will reap the benefits of improved self esteem, self confidence whilst enhancing my skills and knowledge.

20 thoughts on “Further Media Makeup & Postiche – Week 4 (Semester 2) of Year 2 Makeup Artistry & Special Makeup Effects

  1. First off I would like to say superb blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t
    mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head
    before writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Thanks!

  2. I have read several just right stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting.

    I surprise how so much attempt you set to make this kind of magnificent informative
    web site.

  3. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your site. You have some really great posts and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write
    some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.

    Please send me an e-mail if interested. Cheers!

  4. Just desire to say your article is as surprising. The clearness to your put up is simply cool and
    that i could suppose you’re a professional in this subject. Fine together with your permission let me to grasp your RSS feed to keep updated with drawing close post. Thank you one million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  5. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking
    and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to
    brand new updates and will talk about this blog with my
    Facebook group. Talk very soon, with you! Thanks, so much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

