Sleek Makeup: Luminous Pressed Powder

Sleek is currently becoming a very popular brand. Evidence of this is quite clear as many makeup artists I currently study/work with are discussing their products such as the contour kit (which seems to be sold out in many stores due to high demand). This kit in particular is one which I would love to test to find out if it lives up to its excellent reputation.

As I was recently browsing in my local Superdrug store, I decided to look at all the Sleek products which were clearly displayed in their own section. The Luminous Pressed Powder immediately stood out and as I am always trying to achieve that perfect flawless skin finish, I chose to test it. This powder differs to my usual matte based powders in that it provides a translucent finish to help minimize skin imperfections due to its infusion of light reflecting mica pigments for a fresh, dewy glow. Furthermore, it also contains SPF 15 to protect against harmful UV rays which is a must

The packaging from Superdrug is not as elegant as higher end stores such as Harvey Nichols however the powder itself is presented in a nice sized black sturdy, slick palette. It also contains a little square puff which is useful for touch-ups, but not the finest example of an applicator so unsurprisingly Sleek actually recommend using a brush for this product.

It is available in four shades, all with yellow undertones which are great for counteracting redness in the skin. I tested shade 01 (which is the lightest) as the others seemed far too dark for my skin. In the palette it does look very shimmery with strong yellow/beige colouring but do not be put off by this. This powder is great for both normal to oily skin and normal to dry skin with the added bonus of lasting all day. However, very oily skins will need something a bit more matte as I found that on certain areas of the face where my skin is oily, this powder did nothing to compliment it.

Sleek luminous pressed powder is available both online and in Superdrug stores where it is retailed at the inoffensive price of £6.49. For me, I like to try products once but unless I am in love with it I move on to finding exactly what suits me perfectly. I would definitely recommend trying this product once. I cannot wait to test more Sleek products as they may provide something specifically suited to me!!! I hope you find the results as pleasing as other users have. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

