Further Media Makeup & Postiche – Week 7 (Semester 2) of Year 2 Makeup Artistry & Special Makeup Effects

In this week’s portfolio building lesson, I wanted to begin practicing for my 6 final portfolio images. My 6 images have been thought through carefully and I have decided to base them around my chosen professional area of work (namely beauty and special occasion makeup). Starting with the first image which will also be the album cover, I intend to create a traditional bridal look. One of the first steps I took before planning my image was to gain inspiration from professional artists who currently work in the bridal sector.  The images below highlight just a few of my favourites.

image 2 image 3 image 4In particular, I love the flawless skin finish, natural coloured lips and quite smoky eyes which are the features that I aim to achieve as they are very often requested by brides especially the younger ones.

During this practical session, I experimented creating this type of look, using silvery/grey and black tones on the eyes with black liner and natural false lashes. My model’s skin looked like a beautiful blushing bride with understated purple/glossy lips which did not overpower the rest of the makeup.  The colours used complimented my model very well which really pleased me; however I now need to practice application techniques especially around the eye area. There are certain aspects of the eye makeup that I do differently from others such as eyeliner. My preference is to use a liquid liner pen as opposed to others who use MAC fluid line which is applied with an eyeliner brush. In future I would like to practice using different products rather than sticking to the same method as future clients may stipulate using their favourite product. Furthermore, I would also like to practice my blending techniques along with creating good eye shadow shapes. The image below shows how my model looked.

All of these skills and techniques would be used by makeup artists at wedding functions, wedding exhibitions or fares and for television/film bridal characters.

Leave a Reply

