Further Media Makeup & Postiche – Week 9 (Semester 2) of Year 2 Makeup Artistry & Special Makeup Effects

To start this week, the class had a Photoshop lesson which was our final lesson on learning new skills that are linked in with our blogs.

The students worked on the same image which was given to us by the tutor. We were taught how to layer images so that it is possible to work on different areas at any one time, and then bring all of the layers together to create the final piece. Firstly, I learnt how to make the white areas of the eyes much brighter without affecting other areas of the face. Secondly, I then changed the colour of the model’s eyes so that they were a brighter shade than the original. Finally, I made the lip shade more colourful and bright. The image below shows the ‘before and after’ of my work.

Next, I uploaded one of my own images which I wish to add to my portfolio. This image was taken at an event I worked at on the 21st September 2012 at Leeds Town Hall (Passion4Fashion). The Photographer who has copyright of this image is named Mick Walker and without him, I would not have this great image which is a 1950’s stunning look! There are certain areas of this image that I wanted to improve before adding it to my portfolio such as skin smoothing therefore this is what I did.  Again, the image below shows the ‘before and after’ of my work.

My feelings with regard to media are very positive in this second year. I believe my progression has been a steady improvement throughout the year having attended all lessons and attained passes in all tasks set. I still remember being given the task of creating a blog and worrying “oh dear, I know what I would like to do but is it possible?” Reflecting on this now, I am extremely happy with how much work and effort has gone into my blog. Furthermore, I never envisaged that I would become a blog addict, looking forward to writing most days!! In addition, I have learnt a huge amount using WordPress, in particular I have loved seeing other websites which has motivated me to promote myself more. It is always a huge pleasure to see likes, comments and followers on my blog and my hope is that my blog continues to improve and attract clientele in the near future. My immediate plans for my blog are to add customised treatment price lists in the next week or two!

The skills and techniques used in this lesson would suit not only makeup artists like me but also  Photographers and Design Artists who produce images daily and work with Photoshop.

Overall, this lesson has been invaluable for my future career especially with regard to portfolio images.

Leave a Reply

