Further Media Makeup & Postiche – Week 11 (Semester 2) of Year 2 Makeup Artistry & Special Makeup Effects

My exciting, challenging and eventful 2 year course is now coming to an end so this will be my final blog post for my further media makeup module!

This was an exceedingly busy week, mostly spent preparing for my assignment deadlines and giving 100% in each task so that I was happy with everything. In particular, I had 3 photo-shoots to complete (one being creature design for prosthetics) and the other two were my art inspired image by Valeria Kuts plus my music album cover image inspired by artist Nicki Minaj.

The main objective behind my art inspired facial design was to create my own unique version using the ying yang symbol, whilst sticking to materials that Valeria Kuts used such as face paints, but to create a twist offering a noticeably different image.  By adding 3D gems to my design as well as extra effects such as a contact lens and false lashes I wanted to create an illusionary effect. Fortunately, I have had good practice using paints (Snazaroo) throughout my final semester in my creature design module. This provided me with ample practice to feel confident in my application of facial painting. What I particularly love about using the Snazaroo products are that not only do they dry very quickly but the black and white shades are extremely effective. In addition I used professional, fine artist brushes that were exceptionally good for obtaining the precision I wanted. My practice sessions were very pleasing in that I learned exactly what worked and what needed improving. For example, I discovered that the adhesive stick on the gems were not good enough therefore I opted for Duo eye lash glue which yields perfect results. The false eye lashes I originally purchased also proved to be inferior, therefore I bought more expensive lashes with a noticeably superior quality which will be perfect for the final shoot. 

As for my music album cover inspired image, one of the main reasons I chose to base this look on Nicki is that her whole image is so bold, colourful and vibrant which represents the image of a perfect Barbie doll. From the contrasting yellow to blue shades of her makeup and hair, to the boldness and dramatic effects of her makeup application, I was inspired to create my own personal doll that she could use on the front cover of her next album. It is not just a question of having the doll like makeup, but having the fullness of face with big cheeks, a little doll’s outfit plus taking the lifeless doll’s pose into consideration. My intention is to be very creative and produce a doll instantly recognisable as Nicki. My makeup designfor the final shoot will be crazy, wacky and as colourful as possible to represent my chosen artist. As Nicki is an extremely successful, talented and wealthy artist this image of a plastic lifeless doll is a tongue in cheek humorous version of her which reflects her big personality perfectly.

Naming the album “Dollybird” is another humorous touch as it is a retro name for a sexy glamorous dumb woman (especially blondes, for example Marilyn Monroe) but Nicki has proved beyond all doubt that a woman can be both a flamboyant blonde and an exceedingly successful, multi talented intelligent woman with a Bohemian (not traditional or sticking to normal rules) style.

Having almost completed all of my portfolio looks, I am feeling confident with my achievements so far. One of the most important factors that I have learned is that there is always room for improvement and no-one should ever become complacent in any place of work. Creating new designs demands high concentration and much practice. There are so many competitors in the makeup artistry field that a new portfolio has to be of a very high standard to compete with long established successful makeup artists. My portfolio will be professionally judged and I will fully accept all criticism, learn from my mistakes and build on all the sound advice given to me.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my blog posts as much as I have enjoyed writing them. Thank you for your loyal support.

Leave a Reply

