Makeup Haul! (Cheap Drugstore Products)

Rimmel London Stay Matte Powder (Shade – Warm Beige 006)

A lightweight, natural-looking, long-wearing coverage powder that glides on smoothly, effectively concealing imperfections. The great thing about this powder is that it is free of fragrance, oils, parabens and talc, and great for all skin types as it does not clog pores. It claims to provide up to 5 hours natural control with natural minerals, however I find that I do not need to top up my makeup at all after an 8-9 hour day of wearing it. I have tried wearing it with different brands of liquid foundation, but currently love combining it with Maxfactor’s Face Finity 3 in 1 Foundation. At a bargain of £3.99, you really have to try it if you haven’t already! It comes in a small, lightweight container, which can easily fit into a small purse/handbag, therefore, perfect to take out and about with you (for when you need it the most!). It is available at Boots, Superdrug or on many online stores in a variety of shades (including transparent, which works for any skin tone).
Rimmel-London-Stay-Matte-Pressed-Powder

MaxFactor Face Finity All Day Flawless 3 in 1 Foundation (Shade – Warm Almond 45)

Beauty Insiders’ Choice winner of 2013, this product was developed for women who want their foundation to easily deliver a long-lasting professional finish, which diminishes the need for imperfection touch-ups and stops the undesirable midday shine (who doesn’t need this!?). It has a very intelligent formula containing three elements (a primer to hold, a concealer to correct, and a foundation to finish). This wonder product delivers an all-day high coverage, matte finish thanks to the oil absorbency of particles and it also contains a very important SPF 20.

I find this product very easy to work with and so far have been using a buffing brush to work it into my skin (although a foundation brush can be used for extra coverage). The coverage is fantastic and so far by wearing it with a light coverage of Rimmel London Stay Matte Powder on top, not an ounce of makeup has moved on my face for a good 8-9 hours until I take it off (impressing me as I can’t say that about many foundations I have tried!). There are six shades available, more suited to light to olive skin tones as apposed to dark skin tones; therefore it is not suitable for everybody.

Overall, at a price of £11.99, I feel that this is a great product; it can save you money by not having to buy a primer or concealer yourself. Although, I add a touch of concealer under the eyes just to help conceal my dark circles. The pump bottle is beautiful and lightweight, not too big, not too small! This is a must have product to try yourselves, it might not be for everybody as it isn’t a super natural looking foundation, however I wouldn’t say it makes you look cakey either.
FACEFINITY

Rimmel London ScandalEyes Precision Micro Eyeliner (Shade – Black/Noir 001)

I have a huge love for black eyeliner, and although I don’t wear it as often as I used to (as I go for the more natural look), I always have one in my makeup bag and can’t beat trying new ones on the market! This Rimmel London eyeliner priced at £5.49 features an ultra-thin felt tip, giving you the ultimate control and a super-fine line that artistically defines your eyes with no unsightly wobbles. It contains a super-high concentration of intense pigments for a ultra-black, tattoo-like line that dries in seconds and resists just about anything (water, heat, sweat, flaking and smudging for 24 hours).

This is right up my street as the thinner the eyeliner; the more natural it shall look. I always find eyeliner quite difficult to apply and a steady hand is needed, therefore if I can find a product with a thin, defined tip like this, it is always extremely helpful! So far, the eyeliners I have used (recently the L’Oreal Superline Perfect Slim Black Intense – £6.99) haven’t impressed me as although it is easy to use, the lasting power was very disappointing and the line would fade within 2 hours.

Unfortunately, this eyeliner wasn’t much better either as although the colour intensity was spot on, and the lasting power was good, the most important part (the application) let me down. Unlike the L’Oreal eyeliner, which had a very long, fine point to it, this was half the size which gave me a thicker line than I wished to create. I found it very difficult to draw a precise line (as it claims it gives) and it was also difficult to get it close to the lash line. I will definitely not be purchasing this again and will look for an alternative!

ScandalEyes-Precision-Micro-Eyeliner_PRODUCT

Revlon Photoready Concealer (Shade – Light Pale 002)

This lightweight, creamy concealer claims to erase imperfections and camouflage dark under-eye circles. With photo chromatic pigments, it bends, reflects and diffuses light to give a soft, luminous finish. It also contains an SPF 20.

This has to be my favourite local drug store concealer I have tried to this day. Without having to spend a fortune, at just £6.49, this concealer works brilliantly and lasts me months! It blends seamlessly into my skin using only my ring finger, working especially well under my eyes to cover those under eye circles, which we all massively hate!! Anybody with acne, hyper pigmentation, rosacea, under eye circles, age spots, scars, birthmarks or pimples must buy this concealer as it has such a great coverage without looking too heavy!

The only down side is that there are only three shades in my local drug stores (light, light-medium, and medium) making it unsuitable to those with darker skin tones.

Leave a Reply

